“Authentic Learning in the Digital Age’ – key points

023b

Rainbow Lorikeet, back yard, Pennant Hills, Sydney

Here are the key ideas I gleaned from this book. I already practice several of them. I always have my antenna up for the possibility that some ideas may or may not work the same at university level. One teaching technique I avoid is getting university students to play games, which may give the appearance of infantilising their learning. I know it’s popular at K-12 levels, but for university students? It’s not always easy to judge the level of maturity they expect or want, so I avoid games. Maybe I am being too precious? I treat my university students as fellow adults and as my equals from day one, in fact I verbalise that in the classroom.

Summary of main points in “Authentic Learning in the Digital Age”

Leave a Reply

